Customer reviews for Marie Callender's Meatballs & Sausage Marinara

Marie Callender's Meatballs & Sausage Marinara

Inspired by traditional Italian-American family meals, Meatballs & Sausage Marinara features savory Italian sausage and meatballs in a slow-simmered marinara sauce.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Breakdown of 29 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
24 out of 2596%Recommend This Product
Customer reviews for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Review 1 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meatballs & Sausage Marina Is Better Than You Would Find At New York City's Best Italian Restaurant

This item is the best steamer product on the market. I was introduced to Meatballs & Sausage Marinara at my local Duane Reade on 72nd St & Frist Avenue in Manhattan. Believing in Marie Callender's superior product line, I foolishly purchased one of three in the freezer. What amazing taste: meatballs were soft and highly tasty and the sausage had a true unforgettable flavor. I followed the microwave instructions and it all came out to perfection. The tomato sauce and the pasta made me literally lick the plate. I've asked the manager to re-order the item and he puts it into the computer. I look on delivery day and it's not there and no one has an answer. I've looked at the nearby supermarket and the manager said he believed it was not on their order sheet. Once in a long, long time does come along such an irresistible product. Can you publish a list of supermarket or other chains in New York City that carry the product? You do not get a product like this too often and only 460 calories
PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:GB
fromNew York City
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is REALLY GOOD!!! :D

I usually don't like TV dinners with meat in them, but this one is the exception - the meat tastes really good in this one. I bought one a week ago and I am totally hooked on this one for awhile - I bought 6 of them at the store yesterday. :)
PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:RockinCrystal
fromGlendale, AZ
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Taste

This is my favorite of all their steamers meals and boy is it delicious. Has good flavor and it taste great too. Especially a frozen meal heated up in a microwave. Overall this is a great product with less than the 500 calories(which is always good) and its ready in less than 5 mins as well. Oh, i have found it tasting better when you take it out the microwave and mix it then let it sit for a couple mins and let the pasta absorb the sauce.
PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:PopoFF
fromApple Valley,CA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Flavor

This makes and excellent meal either lunch or dinner. This is my second Fresh Flavor Steamer and they both have been great. 150 million percent better that the MC Spagetti and Meatballs.
PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Scott
fromHouston
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You have to give it a try.

Being single I won't take the time to make a pot of pasta for myself, especially since most of it will go to waste, but I still want to eat a real meal sometimes. This tastes "real". I can deal with the 4 minutes and even the 450 calories (occasionally), and all for only $2.50.
PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Sharon
fromUpstate, NY
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome!!!!!

I love, love this meal. It is my favorite. I will continue to buy it and it has the right amount of calories. Since I am losing weight it is a welcoming taste for a healthy meal.
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Submitted by:sunshinye
fromEvans GA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tastes like a home cooked meal - in 5 minutes

This is a great italian meal, tastes like the home cooked version. I make it frequently when time is of the essence. The only downside is I'd prefer more pasta in the mix. I sometimes boil some pasta and add it to the prepared dish.All in all it's the best frozen italian meal I've encountered!
PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Eagle99
fromLong Island, NY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The overall taste is good, But-,

This food would be better presented as a vegetarian dish, meatless! The sausage and meatballs were very rubbery and not very flavorful. Certainly not what I expected from an Italian dish.
I have purchased and enjoyed many of your other foods but this is not one I will buy again. Meatless, I might.
PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:AL
fromLoveland, CO
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was quite surprised.

I stayed away from Marie Callenders meals for years because they were bland, but this one is quite good. I definitely recommend you try it.
PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Nick
fromMesa, AZ
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious

I thought this meal was amazing. I hate buying microwave foods but I had to work during lunchtime and decided to pick up a few of these. They were very good, I love the sauce. I also put some shredded cheese on top!
PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Gigi
fromStone Mountain, GA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Caused Burns and tasted mediocore

After I had microwaved the product when I removed the strainer from the sauce portion the flimsy plastic caused the sauce to fall spilling boiling hot sauce all over my leg and hand. Not to mention the meat tasted extremely bland and lacking in seasoning. The sauce was 'okay' but the pasta was very inconsistent in chewiness to Al dente.
PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Anonymous
fromWashington
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but not great

The sauce tasted very good and the noodles were not dry at all. The meatballs tasted exactly like the meatballs in the Swedish meatballs frozen dinner. I do like them but wouldnt expect them to taste the same. The italian sausage I did not care for at all.
PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:bitzy
fromEldon, MO.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Sauce

The sauce is yummy, the sauce to pasta ratio is perfect and the meat is amazing!!!! Tastes almost homemade.
PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:mamagrove
fromLong Beach, CA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frozen? No way!

I am so impressed with this steamer. The noodles are fresh and the meat is so good. I still can't believe it it frozen. The spices in this dish really bring the meal to life. It is spicy, but well worth it. I can't believe how great this meal is.
PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Leslie
fromPA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Are you sure this is Frozen?

I love all of the Steamer products so far! However this one has got to be my favorite!! Its so hard to find a good Frozen Marinara pasta. Most brands are short on the sauce, taste like a box, have dry noodles, and are just flat out BLAH.. NOT THIS!! This stuff is fabulous!! The Sauce is plentiful, chunky, and delicious!! The noodles cook perfectly, The meat is very tasty! It tastes like a home cooked meal (like grandma's, its definitely better than mine.. lol) I love this product and will definitely continue to eat it, as well as recommend it to friends!!!
PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Ash
fromGatlinburg, TN
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great taste

Just about everything of Marie Callenders taste great! To many to just pick one as a favorite.
PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Submitted by:wandsy3
fromUnited States
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing ever but.....

I love this steamer with a passion.. Hard to find sometimes but I adore it.. I just a one major complaint, it need more meatballs.. Every single one I get has maybe two or three and those are my favorite part.. Greatest meatballs I've ever had.. You should invest in selling just meatballs.. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this dish!!
PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Bella Trixie
fromFayetteville, NC, USA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fresh Home Cooked Taste

Most of the dinners in this collection are good...but this one is my favorite. It does NOT taste like it's frozen food and the steaming really does make the sausage and meatballs taste fresh. These are great for quick lunches at work because the bowls are so conveniant! Now, if they could just make a Jambalaya one!
PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Submitted by:TT
fromWashington, DC, USA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Tasting!

They must use the same marinara sauce as they use in their other Italian dishes. It tastes bad. They are slowly cheapening their product line 'till there will be none left that are tasty.
PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Mike
fromTulsa, OK, USA
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Meatballs & Sausage Marinara
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sausage leaves a little to be desired.

Overall, the entree was good, the meatballs, pasta and sauce were above average, the sausage was not very good, it tasted like glorified lunch meat.
PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Submitted by:Tink
fromMidwest, KS
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12next>>